Bluebird Bluebird by Attica Locke

9781781257685

I couldn’t wait for my copy of Attica Locke’s Bluebird Bluebird to arrive via my lovely postie Colin. When it did I was straight into reading it and it did not disappoint.

Set in the small town, well hardly a town, of Lark in Texas this book which is a thriller evokes the heat and dryness of the Texas backwaters. Our main character Darren Mathews is a Texas Ranger but he is also black, and in some parts of Texas that means nothing doesn’t matter what Silver Star you’re wearing.

 

This book has everything, murder, racism, drugs, love, gangs and lawbreakers – in fact I found it more than just thriller it was a thought-provoking story seemingly written from the heart of someone who has traveled those roads and encountered racism and most of all love. I would suggest that this book has an almost film quality to it, the way the surroundings and story line are masterfully described – it played out like a movie in my head.

 

This is the first book i have read by Attica Locke who is a very accomplished writer, screenwriter and producer. I’m not going to give the story away for those who have yet to read it but I loved it, i loved the style of writing and it is a real stand out book in the Crime Genre. I hope we may see a follow-up?

 

twitter-follow screen_name=’judefire66uk’ show_screen_name=’no’

 

Author: Judefire33 The Book Blog

I've been a bookworm since I was able to read my first Janet & John books at 4 years old! I have read so many books, that I wish I had kept a list since I was young. My words are my own, my opinions are my own! I love Thrillers and Crime Fiction and am happy to receive ARC's and will post reviews on The Storygraph, Amazon, Instagram, and Twitter Twitter - @judefire33 Instagram - @judefire33 The Storygraph - @judefire33 Goodreads - @judefire33

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.