Book Review Be Sure Your Sins by Harry Fisher

Be Sure Your Sins

Six people
Six events
Six lives destroyed

What is the connection?

Detective Sergeant Melissa (Mel) Cooper has two major investigations on the go. The first involves six apparently unrelated individuals who all suffer inexplicable life-altering events.
Mel is also pursuing a serial blackmailer but just as she’s about to prove the link between this man and the six bizarre events, she’s ordered to back off.   
So why are her bosses interfering with her investigations? Who are they trying to protect? And how far will they go to stop her?

The answers come from a totally unexpected source.

Firstly thank you to Rebecca at Hobeck Books for my copy of Be Sure Your Sins.

I loved this book, at first I couldn’t understand how the six events that occurred were going to make a story…but as I continued to read, it became a complex and weaving plot that had me gripped.

DS Mel Cooper leads the team investigating these crimes, in Edinburgh. She’s a feisty and clever Detective and with her team they uncover plots of blackmail and hate, which hits her close to home!

Fantastically well written, with wonderful descriptions of Edinburgh and some really clever plots, an intelligent and unputdownable thriller of a book.

A 5 ⭐️ read.

I’m Harry Fisher, I write crime thrillers.

I live in Aberdeen with my wife, Shiona and our dog, Harry. And there it is – the lie exposed. Harry Fisher (the writer) is a pseudonym and here’s why. Despite the fact that in my entire life I’ve never met anyone with the same name as me, when I came to publish WBAL I discovered a namesake down south who writes crime thrillers. Honestly, what are the chances? (Mutter mutter.)

I’m a native of Edinburgh and that’s where Way Beyond A Lie is (partly) set. Write about what you know, and all that. It’s also set in Prague. We went there for a long weekend in 2000 so you can see a theme developing. We’ve been to Ballachulish a couple of times too but I couldn’t fit it into the story. Sorry about that, folks.

My second book Be Sure Your Sins will be published 5 October 2021. Six events happen to Six people that destroy Six lives. It’s not a sequel but DS Mel Cooper from Way Beyond A Lieis the central character. Lots of readers told me they loved her and her sidekick Andrew Young so it was an easy decision to give them their own show.

Things I’m into apart from walking the canine Harry every day: travel, outdoor stuff, wine and food, and if all four can be aligned then so much the better.

STOP PRESS: Harry has recently signed with indie publisher Hobeck Books (Trad Values – Indie Spirit). More news to follow.

Find Harry at his website here https://harryfisherwriter.com/

Author: Judefire33 The Book Blog

I've been a bookworm since I was able to read my first Janet & John books at 4 years old! I have read so many books, that I wish I had kept a list since I was young. My words are my own, my opinions are my own! I love Thrillers and Crime Fiction and am happy to receive ARC's and will post reviews on The Storygraph, Amazon, Instagram, and Twitter Twitter - @judefire33 Instagram - @judefire33 The Storygraph - @judefire33 Goodreads - @judefire33

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.